夏威夷大岛上的冒险活动

美国夏威夷大岛上的顶级旅游景点

夏威夷大岛最棒的一点是无需前往其他任何地方。这个岛屿拥有一切,从雄伟的瀑布和高耸的火山到温泉和黑沙滩。夏威夷岛上有足够多的事情可以做,你可以度过一个完整的假期。如果您正在寻找一些很棒的大岛活动,请继续阅读。

还值得注意的是,如果您正在寻找热带假期,大岛是最佳选择之一。它拥有许多美丽的海滩和活动,包括冲浪、远足、探索等等。拥有如此多样化的岛屿,几乎任何度假者都能找到适合自己的东西——那么为什么不今天预订航班呢?当你到达这里时,你会很高兴你做到了。

夏威夷大岛必做的 5 件事

1. 大岛大圈

2. 大岛火山探险

3. 大岛暮光火山和观星

4. 历史悠久的科纳和农场

5. 豪华浮潜和海豚手表

大岛要做的事情的完整清单

如果您正在寻找热带天堂,夏威夷大岛是您游览的最佳地点。

如果您正在寻找热带天堂,夏威夷大岛是您游览的最佳地点。它被称为夏威夷最大的岛屿,为游客提供一系列活动和景点。凭借其郁郁葱葱的绿色植物、美丽的天气和温暖的海水——更不用说它的活火山——这个岛屿拥有您度过一个美妙假期所需的一切。

夏威夷大岛必做之事
夏威夷大岛必做之事

这个岛上有许多活动可以让任何游客的一天都值得:在威基基海滩冲浪;徒步穿越科纳咖啡田;参观希洛镇历史悠久的海滨区;在这片巨大的陆地上众多美丽的海湾之一进行浮潜水肺潜水;在 Kapa’au 的 Ted’s Bakery 享用新鲜的龙虾尾——不胜枚举!

夏威夷大岛地图

夏威夷国家火山公园
夏威夷国家火山公园

当您想到大岛时,您可能会想到夏威夷著名的海滩、瀑布和熔岩管。但还有另一个自然奇观游客不容错过的夏威夷火山国家公园。这个公园是地球上世界上最活跃的火山之一——基拉韦厄火山的所在地,并拥有北美最高的海崖。该公园还包括巨大的黑沙滩和茂密的热带雨林,这里充满了鸟鸣和濒临灭绝的 ‘elepaio 树,这些树只生长在这个岛链上!

如果您正在寻找超出酒店房间所能提供的冒险,那么在访问夏威夷大岛时,如果不参观这十大必做之事之一,那么您的旅行就不算完整!

USA Quiz

How many questions would you like?

Question
Your result:
Comment based on score

在莫纳克亚海滩畅游

莫纳克亚海滩日落
莫纳克亚海滩日落

Mauna Kea 海滩位于大岛的科纳一侧。这个海滩以其湛蓝的海水、平静的海水和白色的沙滩而闻名。它是夏威夷岛上最受欢迎的海滩之一,多年来一直被评为美国十大海滩之一。

每年,成千上万的人涌向这里,在清澈的海水下游泳,非常适合浮潜或只是在冲浪或风筝冲浪等水上运动中玩耍。使用下面的指南来帮助您计划旅行!

在詹姆斯库克船长纪念碑浮潜

浮潜是观赏海底世界的绝佳方式。詹姆斯库克船长纪念碑周围环绕着美丽的珊瑚礁和鱼类,使其成为夏威夷最佳浮潜地点之一!天然珊瑚礁是数十种鱼类和更多鱼类的家园,因此您可以确信您的浮潜会令人兴奋。

詹姆斯库克纪念碑
詹姆斯库克纪念碑

如果旅游公司不提供,您需要带上您的面罩、脚蹼和呼吸管。您还可以使用防水相机或 GoPro 来拍摄您所有的水下冒险经历!

参观科纳的海马农场

无论您是海马爱好者还是想体验不同的事物,海马农场都是您不容错过的有趣景点。导游热情而知识渊博,会回答您可能遇到的任何问题。

科纳的海马养殖场
科纳的海马养殖场

一进入农场,就很明显这是一个特别的地方。大鱼缸里装满了五颜六色的鱼和珊瑚礁——出乎意料的是,有些甚至还为夏威夷养了海马宝宝!当您沿着小路穿过水槽并了解这些迷人的动物(如果与它们一起饲养,它们可能会很社交),您的导游会为您提供如何与一两只海马一起浮潜的提示(它们更喜欢自己的物种)。它为您带来难忘的水下体验——您不会很快忘记它!

农场本身并不算大,但陆地上有足够的空间,因此家庭可以在游览每个坦克区时不会挤在一起(总共三个)。这也很棒,因为它只占用了一块空地的一侧,而不是像其他景点那样占用城镇范围内的宝贵空间。此外,他们让任何人每天都可以通过,而无需事先预订——在进入之前在办理登机手续时付款。”

划过 Kealakekua 湾

如果您想近距离接触夏威夷的海洋生物,Kealakekua 湾是一个不错的起点。海湾是多种珊瑚、海绵和鱼类的家园。您还可以在一年中的任何时候看到海龟在这里游泳。

凯拉克夸湾
凯拉克夸湾

在 Kealakekua 湾浮潜的最佳时间是在海浪较少的早上或下午。这意味着您将能够从您的潜水装备中发现更多的海洋生物!

探索阿卡卡瀑布州立公园

阿卡卡瀑布是夏威夷最受欢迎的旅游景点之一。它位于希洛,大岛上的一座城市,以许多火山和瀑布而闻名。

阿卡卡瀑布州立公园
阿卡卡瀑布州立公园。

阿卡卡瀑布也是夏威夷第二高的瀑布!这意味着当您访问这个地方时,这将是一个令人难以置信的景象。体验这些瀑布的最佳方式是沿着它们周围的小路徒步旅行(您甚至可以在某些地方游泳!)。

莫纳克亚山上的星光凝视

莫纳克亚山山顶海拔 13,796 英尺,是许多夏威夷人的圣地,自古以来就被视为圣地。今天,它也是众多向公众开放的天文台的所在地——任何到达那里的人都可以欣赏到它们的景色!

莫纳克亚山上的天文台最初是在二战期间(1942 年)建造的,主要用于军事目的;然而,现在它们被跨学科的科学家更频繁地使用,包括天文学和大气科学。这些天文台有助于我们更好地了解我们的宇宙!

星星凝视莫纳克亚山
星星凝视莫纳克亚山

如果您有兴趣参观这些天文台,但不确定如何才能不摔断脚踝或死于高原反应(如一些常见的旅游错误),请不要担心。您可以通过多种方式轻松到达莫纳克亚山的顶峰!

例如:租一辆 SUV 可以让您进入,不仅因为它可以让您安全地将自己运送到夏威夷的这个地区,否则大多数人无法前往;还因为它为因健康原因需要帮助的乘客提供了足够的空间。

去柯哈拉海岸观鲸

Kohala Coast是观赏鲸鱼的最佳地点之一。它是夏威夷最受欢迎的观鲸地点——从 12 月到 3 月,您可以期待在季节内看到抹香鲸和座头鲸。Kailua-Kona(大岛上着名的旅游小镇)的港口提供观鲸之旅,或者您可以选择私人旅游。无论您选择哪个选项,请确保您的船只经营者拥有其与海洋哺乳动物活动相关的许可。

观鲸科哈拉海岸
观鲸科哈拉海岸

赏鲸最好在冬季进行,因为那时这些海洋哺乳动物会靠近海岸,寻找食物和温暖的水温。此外,每年的这个时候海面平静,非常适合发现这些温和的巨兽!

前往 Pu’ukoholā Heiau 国家历史遗址

Puukohola Heiau 国家历史遗址是最受欢迎的大岛徒步旅行之一,原因很容易理解。一个网站是一个地方,您可以在一个地方感受夏威夷独特的景观和历史。

Pu'uhonua 国家历史公园
Pu’uhonua 国家历史公园

徒步旅行从沿海岸行驶到 Kawaihae 港开始。您将乘船越过 Kealakekua 湾前往 Puukohola Heiau 国家历史遗址。

在 Puukohola Heiau 国家历史遗址着陆后,您将能够靠近被称为“Pu’uhonua”或“避风港”的绿色熔岩喷口。只要您遵守公园规则(不允许食物或饮料),对于任何想要快速了解夏威夷历史的人来说,这次旅行应该是悠闲的。

探索希洛镇

海湾前大道希洛镇
海湾大道希洛镇

希洛有很多东西可以提供!您可以在希洛农贸市场购买一些新鲜农产品,参观希洛艺术博物馆或在任何当地博物馆了解夏威夷的历史。游览完市中心后,前往威洛亚河州立公园了解夏威夷人在不同时期的生活方式,并欣赏莫纳克亚山(从海底底部测量的世界最高山峰)的景色。之后,前往大岛博物馆或莱曼博物馆,更深入地了解夏威夷文化和历史。

常见问题解答:夏威夷大岛要做的事情

夏威夷大岛玩几天合适?

如果你在夏威夷大岛有五天时间,你就有足够的时间做很多事情。您可以游览大岛上的所有四个主要目的地,例如科纳、威美亚和希洛;参加岛上其他地方的一日游,如火山国家公园或夏威夷火山国家公园;参观 Puna 熔岩管或 Akaka 瀑布等地方,并参加诸如在 Oneuli 海滩浮潜或远足 Pu’u ‘Ō’ō 火山口小径等活动。您还可以参加冒险活动,例如在 Kailua 湾参加冲浪课程或在 Kawaihae 港进行蝠鲼观察之旅。

如果您想要超过 5 天而不是 10 天,请考虑在行程中的每个地点多增加一天,以便每个目的地都有两天(对于大多数活动来说,两天就足够了)。

在夏威夷大岛可以做的事情
在夏威夷大岛上可以做的事情

例如:如果您计划在一天内使用公共交通工具从科纳市前往火山国家公园并在一天内返回,那么计划在火山中度过两晚,以便在前往城镇享用晚餐/午餐/小吃之前在那里度过一晚等,然后再度过一个晚上,探索白天开放的地方,然后再出去吃早餐、午餐、小吃、晚餐、饮料等。

它将为每个地点提供独特的体验,而不会感到匆忙——尤其是那些需要更多时间的地方,因为它们可能会由于可能每隔几年才会发生一次的天气条件而关闭!

大岛最出名的是什么?

夏威夷大岛为游客提供了很多东西。它拥有 11 座活火山、一些世界上最好的海滩,以及可以欣赏到瀑布和茂密森林的壮丽景色的全岛车道。您可以在 Kealakekua 湾与五颜六色的鱼群中浮潜,或者在硬化的火山灰中徒步探索熔岩管。除了所有这些自然美景之外,还有许多文化历史遗址会让您着迷于夏威夷民间传说以及他们如何利用周围环境作为生存工具的故事。

大岛要做的事情
在大岛上可以做的事情

如果您喜欢美食(谁不喜欢呢?),您可以选择各种美味佳肴,包括全岛餐厅的日本拉面和韩国烧烤盘。大岛还以其冲浪学校而闻名,初学者可以在这里学习如何在冲浪板上站立,然后在每年 12 月举行的外科洛亚海滩公园的管道大师比赛中尝试更高级的动作,如骑管或落入大浪中!

留在希洛还是科纳更好?

科纳和希洛是大岛上最大的两个城市。他们有很多共同点——都是享受夏威夷自然美景的好地方,都拥有美丽的海滩,并且都提供供应来自世界各地的美味佳肴的餐厅。

在夏威夷希洛可以做的事情
在夏威夷希洛可以做的事情

但是它们之间也有一些区别:

  • 希洛有超过 45,000 人,而科纳有大约 23,000 名居民。您会在这里找到比岛上其他地方更多的商店和餐馆——而且它们的价格也往往更合理!此外,还有遍布整个城镇的博物馆和植物园等文化景点(火山之家酒店还提供了一个有趣的博物馆)。因此,希洛自然而然地感觉更像是一个小镇,而不是像科纳这样的度假社区。
  • 如果您想留在一个感觉更像是您自己的私人岛屿度假的地方,而不必远离文明,那么请考虑入住 Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 或 Kailua-Kona Ali’i Drive 沿线的任何其他度假村;这两个地点都享有壮丽的海景,附近有很多活动!
在夏威夷科纳可以做的事情
在夏威夷科纳可以做的事情

一年中游览夏威夷大岛的最佳时间是什么时候?

游览夏威夷大岛的最佳时间是夏季,此时气温较温和,湿度较低。夏威夷任何一天的平均高温从 1 月的 70°F (21°C) 到 8 月的 78°F (26°C) 不等,因此如果您计划去那里旅行,您可以预期天气条件会发生明显变化在一年中的不同时间。

有些人更喜欢温暖的气候,并在外面仍然温暖的时候利用他们理想的度假胜地。相比之下,其他人则喜欢体验较冷的条件,例如滑雪下山,或与朋友或家人一起享受滑冰或在结冰的湖泊和池塘上滑雪等冬季运动。如果您的旅行计划包括户外活动,例如徒步穿越火山周围的自然小径,而无需因为晚上可能很冷而带上额外的衣服,请考虑在夏季来访!

夏威夷大岛活动
夏威夷大岛活动

大岛上最好的海滩是什么?

大岛上有几个美丽的海滩,但我们会告诉你我们的最爱。

我们将从外皮奥谷海滩开始——夏威夷最著名和拍照最多的海滩。它也是我们名单上较小的海滩之一,所以如果您想要更私密的体验并且不想与人群打交道,那么这里就是您的去处。您需要一辆 4×4 的车辆或一辆 ATV 才能到达那里,因为它就在一个非常陡峭的下坡路​​旁边,进入一些岩石地形!这里没有洗手间或淋浴,但在海滩的每一端都有遮阳棚下的野餐桌,您可以在那里休息,然后通过 Waipi’o Gap 回家。

接下来是 Kekaha Kai 州立公园,拥有两个独立的海滩:Wai’ao Bay 和 Kahalu’u 海滩公园,就在它的北边(您可以从上方看到这两个海滩)。两者都有公共接入点,但和其他大岛海滩一样,它们不允许狗或宠物进入,所以如果可能的话,把它们留在家里——对不起,小狗!

夏威夷大岛的热门活动
夏威夷大岛的热门活动

开车绕大岛一圈需要多长时间?

在大岛周围开车大约需要 7-8 小时。这是一个长岛,所以你必须小心驾驶。如果您要进行这次旅行,请确保随身携带足够的水,因为如果您的汽车发生故障或发生其他事情,将没有其他方法可以获取任何水!您可能还想参加导游,因为在一些小城镇很难找到停车位,而且您还必须支付停车费。

由于旅游旺季(12 月中旬至 1 月中旬)交通拥堵较少,环岛巴士可能需要长达 10 小时,具体取决于陆路访问的目的地与航空旅行时间节省。

夏威夷大岛要做的事情
夏威夷大岛要做的事情

大岛值得去吗?

大岛是一个值得游览的好地方。有很多事情要做,这是一个放松或冒险的好地方。您可以在火山上远足,也可以在科纳的其中一个海滩游泳。如果您与朋友或家人一起旅行,租一辆房车并一起探索岛屿是个好主意!

夏威夷有很多适合游客的活动:威基基海滩的冲浪课程、欧胡岛的浮潜、毛伊岛的观鲸——每个人都能找到适合自己的东西!

大岛上有很多事情要做

如果您正在计划一个岛屿度假,夏威夷大岛可能在您的名单上。您可能听说过大岛上有很多事情要做,但这究竟意味着什么?

如果您想观光,我强烈建议您参观希洛和科纳——这两个城镇都为游客和当地人提供了无数的活动。在希洛和科纳有很多有趣的事情要做,几乎不可能在这里一一列出!

结论

我希望本指南能让您兴奋地参观夏威夷大岛及其自然美景。

谢谢阅读!我希望它也让您对大岛的所有内容以及为什么它对来自世界各地的旅行者来说如此特别的地方有一个很好的了解。我们很想知道您是否计划访问这些地方,或者我们是否错过了需要添加到此列表中的内容!如果是这样,请在下面的评论部分告诉我们。

Bundle your hotel + flight together to save more on your next trip! Book now at Expedia.comp565drvjpn8A99EIBAEG8ADCHCIBI

cn.bestattractions.org 是读者支持的。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会获得会员佣金。

Best Attractions
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!:

Adventurous things to do on the Big Island of Hawaii

Top Tourist Attractions on the Big Island of Hawaii USA

The best part about the Big Island of Hawaii is that there is no need to travel anywhere else. This island has it all, from majestic waterfalls and towering volcanoes to hot springs and black sand beaches.

There are more than enough things to do on the island of Hawaii that you could spend an entire vacation. If you are looking for fantastic Hawaii Big Island things to do, please keep reading.

It’s also worth noting that the Big Island is one of the best options if you’re looking for a tropical vacation. It features plenty of beautiful beaches and activities to enjoy, including surfing, hiking, exploring, and much more. With an island as diverse as this, there’s something to suit any vacationer—so why not book a flight today? You’ll be glad you did when you get here.

Top 5 Hawaii Big Island things to do

If you’re looking for a tropical paradise, the Big Island of Hawaii is the best place to visit.

If you’re looking for a tropical paradise, the Big Island of Hawaii is the best place to visit. Known as Hawaii’s largest island, it offers visitors an array of things to do and places to see. With its lush greenery, beautiful weather, and warm ocean waters—not to mention its active volcanoes—this island has everything you need for a fantastic vacation.

Hawaii Big Island things to do
Hawaii Big Island things to do

Many activities on this island will make any visitor’s day worthwhile: surfing on Waikiki Beach; hiking through the Kona coffee fields; visiting Hilo Town’s historic waterfront district; going snorkeling or scuba diving in one of the many gorgeous bays located on this massive landmass; enjoying fresh lobster tail at Ted’s Bakery in Kapa`au – the list goes on!

Big Island of Hawaii Map

Start With The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Hawaii national volcanoes park
Hawaii national volcanoes park

When you think of the Hawaii Big Island, you might picture Hawaii’s famous beaches, waterfalls, and lava tubes. But there are another natural wonder visitors should not miss Hawaii Volcanoes, National Park.

This park is home to one of the world’s most active volcanoes on Earth—Kilauea—and has some of the tallest sea cliffs in North America. The park also includes giant black sand beaches and lush rainforests filled with birdsong and endangered ‘elepaio trees that only grow here on this island chain!

If you’re looking for an adventure beyond what your hotel room can offer, no trip is complete without visiting one of these top ten things to do while visiting Big Island Hawaii!

Take A Dip At The Mauna Kea Beach

Mauna Kea beach sunset
Mauna Kea Beach sunset

The Mauna Kea Beach is located on the Kona side of the big island. This beach is known for its blue waters, calm waters, and white sand. It’s one of the most popular beaches on Hawai’i island and has been voted one of America’s top 10 beaches for several years.

Thousands flock here to swim under crystal clear waters every year, perfect for snorkeling or just playing water sports like surfing or kiteboarding. Use our guide below to help plan your trip!

Snorkel At Captain James Cook Monument

Snorkeling is a great way to see the underwater world. The Captain James Cook Monument is surrounded by beautiful coral reefs and fish, making it one of the best places in Hawaii for snorkeling! The natural reefs are home to dozens of species and even more fish, so you can be sure your snorkel will be exciting.

James Cook monument
James Cook monument

You’ll want to bring your mask, fins, and snorkel if the tour company doesn’t provide them. You can also get a waterproof camera or GoPro to capture your underwater adventures on film!

USA Quiz

How many questions would you like?

Question
Your result:
Comment based on score

Visit the Seahorse Farm in Kona

Whether you’re a seahorse enthusiast or want to experience something different, the Seahorse Farm is a fun attraction you shouldn’t miss. The tour guides are passionate and knowledgeable and will answer any questions.

seahorse farm in Kona
seahorse farm in Kona

As soon as you enter the farm, it’s clear that this is a special place. The large tanks are full of colorful fish and coral reefs—unexpectedly, some even host baby seahorses for Hawaii!

As you walk along the path through the tanks and learn about these fascinating animals (which can be pretty social if raised with their kind), your guide will give you tips on how to snorkel with one or two seahorses at once (they prefer their species). It makes for an unforgettable underwater experience—you won’t forget it anytime soon!

The farm itself isn’t too big, but there’s enough space on land so families can explore without being cramped together during tours of each tank area (there is three total).

It’s also great because it only takes up one side of an open lot instead of taking up valuable space within town limits as other attractions might. Plus, they let anyone come through every day without needing reservations beforehand–pay at check-in before going inside.”

Paddle Through Kealakekua Bay

If you’re looking to get up close and personal with the marine life of Hawaii, Kealakekua Bay is a great place to start. The bay is home to many types of coral, sponges, and fish. You can also see turtles swimming around here at any time of the year.

Kealakekua bay
Kealakekua Bay

The best time to snorkel in Kealakekua Bay is in the morning or afternoon when there are fewer waves. It means that you’ll be able to spot more marine life from your snorkel gear!

Explore The Akaka Falls State Park

Akaka Falls is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Hawaii. It’s located in Hilo, a city on the Big Island known as home to many volcanoes and waterfalls.

Akaka falls state park
Akaka falls state park.

Akaka Falls is also the second-tallest waterfall in all of Hawaii! It means that it will be an incredible sight when you visit this place. The best way to experience these falls is by hiking along the path around them (you can even swim at some points!).

Star gaze atop Mauna Kea

Mauna Kea, which rises 13,796 feet above sea level at its summit, is a sacred site for many Hawaiians and has been considered such since ancient times. Today it’s also home to numerous observatories open to the public—and their views can be enjoyed by anyone who makes their way up there!

The observatories on Mauna Kea were first built during WWII (1942) and were used for military purposes primarily; however, now they’re being used more frequently by scientists across disciplines, including astronomy and atmospheric science. These observatories have been instrumental in helping us better understand our universe!

star gaze Mauna Kea
star gaze, Mauna Kea,

If you’re interested in visiting these observatories but aren’t sure how to get up there without breaking your ankle or dying from altitude sickness (like some common tourist mistakes), don’t worry. You can reach Mauna Kea’s apex in many ways without trouble!

For example: renting an SUV will give you access not only because it will allow you safely transport yourself up into this part of Hawaii where most people cannot go otherwise; but also because it allows room enough for passengers who need assistance getting around due to health reasons.

Go Whale Watching Off Kohala Coast

The Kohala Coast is one of the best places to see whales. It’s the most popular spot in Hawaii for whale watching – from December to March, and you can expect in-season sightings of sperm and humpback whales.

Whale-watching tours are offered at the harbor in Kailua-Kona (a famous tourist town on the Big Island), or you can choose a private tour instead. Whichever option you select, ensure your boat operator has permits for its activities with marine mammals.

whale watching Kohala coast
whale watching Kohala coast

Whale watching is best during winter because these marine mammals come closer to shore, looking for food and warmer water temperatures. In addition, this time of year offers calm sea conditions ideal for spotting these gentle giants!

Hit The Puʻukoholā Heiau National Historic Site

Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site is one of the most popular Big Island hiking tours, and it’s easy to see why. A site is where you can feel Hawaiʻi’s unique landscape and history come together in one place.

Pu'uhonua national historical park
Pu’uhonua national historical park

The hike begins with a drive up the coast to Kawaihae Harbor. You’ll take a boat from Kealakekua Bay to Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site.

Once on land at Puukohola Heiau National Historic Site, you can walk up close to the green lava vents known as “Pu’uhonua” or “safe haven.” As long as you follow park rules (no food or drink allowed), this tour should be leisurely for anyone who wants a quick glimpse into Hawaiian history.

Explore Hilo town

Bay front ave Hilo town
Bayfront Ave Hilo town

Hilo has a lot to offer! You can pick up some fresh produce at the Hilo Farmers Market, visit the Hilo Art Museum, or learn about Hawaii’s history at local museums.

Once you’ve explored downtown, head to the Wailoa River State Park to see how Hawaiians lived during different periods and view Mauna Kea (the world’s tallest mountain when measured from its base on the ocean floor), afterward, head to the Big Island Museum or Lyman Museum for a more in-depth look at Hawaiian culture and history.

FAQ: Hawaii Big Island things to do

How many days is enough in Big Island Hawaii?

If you have five days in Big Island Hawaii, you have enough time to do many things. You can visit all four main destinations on the Big Island such as Kona, Waimea, and Hilo; take day trips to other parts of the island like Volcano National Park or Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park; visit places like Puna lava tubes or Akaka Falls, and participate in activities like snorkeling at Oneuli Beach or hiking Pu‘u ‘Ō‘ō crater trail. You can also go on adventures like surfing lessons in Kailua Bay or manta ray spotting tours out of Kawaihae Harbor.

If you want more than five but not ten days, consider adding an extra day to each location in your itinerary so that each destination gets two full days (two full days are sufficient for most activities).

things to do in Hawaii Big Island
things to do on Hawaii’s Big Island

For example: if you plan on going from Kona City to Volcano National Park and back within one day using public transportation, then plan on spending two nights in the volcano so that one night is spent there before heading off into town for dinner/lunch/snacks, etc., then spend another night after that exploring what’s open during daylight hours before heading back out again for breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner, drinks, etc.

It will allow each location its unique experience without feeling rushed through anything – especially those places requiring more time because they’re potentially closed off due to weather conditions that might only occur once every few years!

What is the Hawaii Big Island most known for?

The Big Island of Hawaii has a lot to offer visitors. It’s home to 11 active volcanoes, some of the best beaches in the world, and an island-wide drive that provides breathtaking views of waterfalls and lush forests.

Take your pick from snorkeling amongst colorful fish at Kealakekua Bay or exploring lava tubes as you hike through hardened volcanic ash. In addition to all this natural beauty, plenty of cultural history sites will fascinate you with stories about Hawaiian folklore and how they used their surroundings as tools for survival.

things to do big island
things to do on Hawaii Big Island

If you love food (and who doesn’t?), you can choose from various delicious cuisines, including Japanese ramen noodles and Korean barbecue plates at restaurants across the island.

The Big Island is also known for its surfing schools, where beginners can learn how to stand up on boards before trying out more advanced maneuvers like tube riding or dropping into big waves at Waikoloa Beach Park’s Pipe Masters Competition held every December!

Is it better to stay in Hilo or Kona?

Kona and Hilo are the two biggest cities on the Hawaii Big Island. They have a lot of things in common—both are great places to enjoy Hawaii’s natural beauty, both have excellent beaches, and both offer restaurants serving delicious cuisine from around the world.

things to do in Hilo Hawaii
things to do in Hilo Hawaii

But there are some differences between them too:

  • Hilo is home to over 45,000 people, while Kona has about 23,000 residents. You’ll find more shops and restaurants here than in other parts of the island—and they also tend to be more reasonably priced! Plus, cultural attractions like museums and botanical gardens are scattered throughout town (the Volcano House Hotel also offers an interesting museum). As such, it’s only natural that Hilo would feel more like a town than a resort community like Kona.
  • If you want to stay somewhere that feels more like your own private island getaway without having to travel far away from civilization, then consider staying at Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows or any number of other resorts along Ali’i Drive in Kailua-Kona; both locations offer stunning ocean views with plenty of activities nearby!
things to do in Kona Hawaii
things to do in Kona Hawaii

What is the best time of year to visit the Big Island of Hawaii?

The best time to visit the Big Island of Hawaii is during the summer when temperatures are milder and humidity levels are lower. The average high temperature on any given day in Hawaii ranges from 70°F (21°C) in January to 78°F (26°C) in August, so you can expect a distinct change in weather conditions if you plan on traveling there during different times of the year.

Some people prefer warmer climates and take advantage of their ideal vacation spots when it’s still warm outside. In contrast, others enjoy experiencing colder conditions, like snowboarding down mountains or enjoying winter sports like skating or skiing on frozen lakes and ponds with their friends or family members.

If you have plans for your trip that include outdoor activities such as hiking through nature trails around volcanoes without needing to bring extra layers of clothing just because they may be cold at night, consider visiting during the summer months instead!

Hawaii Big Island activities
Hawaii Big Island activities

What is the best beach on the Big Island?

There are several beautiful beaches on the Big Island, but we’ll tell you our favorites.

We’ll start with Waipi’o Valley Beach—Hawaii’s most famous and photographed beach. It’s also one of the smaller beaches on our list, so if you want a more private experience and don’t want to deal with crowds, this is your spot.

You’ll need a 4×4 vehicle or an ATV to get there because it’s next to a very steep dropoff into some rocky terrain! There are no restrooms or showers here, although picnic tables are under shade shelters at each beach end, where you can rest up before heading home through Waipi’o Gap.

Next up is Kekaha Kai State Park features two separate beaches: Wai’ao Bay and Kahalu’u Beach Park, just north of it (you can see both from above). Both have public access points, but like other Big Island beaches, they do not allow dogs or pets, so leave them home if possible – sorry, pups!

top things to do in Hawaii Big Island
top things to do on Hawaii Big Island

How long does it take to drive around the Big Island?

It takes about 7-8 hours to drive around the Big Island. It is a long island, so you must be careful about driving. If you are going on this trip, bring enough water with you because there will be no other way of getting any if your car breaks down or something else happens there!

You might also want to go on a guided tour since it’s hard to find parking in some smaller towns, and you also have to pay for parking.

Busing around the island could take up to 10 hours depending on which destinations are being visited overland versus air travel time savings due to less traffic congestion during peak tourism seasons (mid-December through mid-January).

Big Island of Hawaii things to do
Big Island of Hawaii things to do

Is Big Island worth visiting?

The Big Island is a great place to visit. There are many things to do, and it’s a great place to relax or be adventurous. You can go hiking on the volcano or swimming at one of the beaches in Kona. If you’re traveling with friends or family, renting an RV and exploring the island together is a good idea!

There are so many things for visitors in Hawaii: surf lessons on Waikiki Beach, snorkeling off Oahu, whale watching from Maui – there’s something for everyone!

There are plenty of things to do on the Hawaii Big Island

If you plan an island getaway, the Big Island of Hawaii is probably on your list. You may have heard that there are many things to do on the Big Island, but what exactly does that mean?

If you want to do some sightseeing, I highly recommend visiting Hilo and Kona—these towns boast countless activities for tourists and locals alike. There are so many fun things to do in Hilo and Kona that it would be nearly impossible to list them all here!

Conclusion

I hope this guide has excited you to visit the Big Island of Hawaii and its natural beauty.

Thanks for reading! I hope it has also given you a good idea of what the Big Island is all about and why it’s such a special place for travelers worldwide to visit. We’d love to hear if you plan on visiting any of these places or if we missed something that needs to be added to this list! If so, let us know in the comments section below.

Bundle your hotel + flight together to save more on your next trip! Book now at Expedia.comp565drvjpn8A99EIBAEG8ADCHCIBI

bestattractions.org website participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. This affiliate advertising program allows sites to earn advertising fees through links to Amazon products at no additional cost to you. Amazon and the Amazon logo are registered trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc., or its affiliates.

BestAttractions
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: